SNS Users' Forums
  • Announcements

• Eric Newbauer

Follow SNS on Twitter!

Get notifications via Twitter! Looking for instant updates? We're now also announcing new versions and beta programs via Twitter. Follow Studio Network Solutions on Twitter. Thanks!
Hugh

New to iSCSI.... Attaching to multiple machines

Hi all,

I'm kinda new to iSCSI - so I don't know what's possibly and what's not, and I've possibly made some wrong assumptions.

I'm working at a small setup with 3 other people, and we were after a good RAID-5 setup that would happily sit on the network and not need a machine to host it.

I was under the (possibly mistaken) impression that this would be fine with iSCSI.

I'm discovering today, though, that setting up an iSCSI connection on one machine to the drive is absolutely fine, but as soon as I look at the drive on another connected machine, it corrupts the file system.

Is there a way to do this? I'm after the best possible performance (obviously).... I'm thinking that I'm going to just have to revert to using it without iSCSI... I'd love to hear any thoughts on this one.

Thanks!

Hi,

yes, all local filesystems like HFS and UFS are only to be used by one computer at a time since, as you have already noticed, get instantly corrupted if you access the same volume from more than one Macs simulatneously.

To be able to use one volume on multiple computers, you'd need what is called a Clustered Filesystem. Apple's own one is Xsan (ACFS). The major drawback of Xsan are the follwoing issues:

- it's quite expensive

- you'll need one ore two so called Metadata Controllers (okay, those can act as normal workstations on your network as well, and as your setup is quite small, you'll probably don't even recognize that)

- handling Xsan can sometimes be a real pain, if anything goes wrong - I knowing this from my own Xsan network, that I am running on our campus network, but we do it over FibreChannel, so there more pieces thrown into the puzzle here